Tuesday, June 3, 2014

Lambda Literary Award For LGBT YA Announced

Last night was the gayest night in literary culture. Until next year. It was the 26th Annual Lambda Literary Awards. So many fantastic Young Adult authors were in attendance representing their LGBT stories, including: David Levithan, Tim Federle, Aaron Hartzler, Alaya Dawn Johnson, Bill Konigsberg, and so many more. The finalists represent books that were published in 2013. Every single finalist is deserving of the Lambda Award for LGBT Children's/YA. Here's the long list:

  • Better Nate Than Ever, Tim Federle, Simon & Schuster, Inc./ Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

  • Boy In Box, Christopher R. Michael, Hubbub Publishing

  • Girls I’ve Run Away With, Rhiannon Argo, Moonshine Press

  • If You Could Be Mine, Sara Farizan, Algonquin Books

  • Openly Straight, Bill Konigsberg, Arthur A. Levine Books

  • Rapture Practice, Aaron Hartzler, Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

  • Secret City, Julia Watts, Bella Books

  • The Secret Ingredient, Stewart Lewis- Author, Rebecca Short-Editor, Delacorte Press (Penguin/Random House)

  • The Summer Prince, Alaya Dawn Johnson, Arthur A. Levine Books

  • Two Boys Kissing, David Levithan, Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers

  • What Makes a Baby, Cory Silverberg and illustrated by Fiona Smyth, Seven Stories Press/Triangle Square

But only one could come out the winner. Usually. This year, there was a TIE. Between David Levithan's Two Boys Kissing and Sara Farizan's If You Could Be Mine. Both of these books are so special and deserve to be read widely. I'm so happy for these authors and cannot wait to see new editions of their books with the shiny gold award sticker shining from the front cover. Congratulations to both David Levithan and Sara Farizan!

No comments:

Post a Comment