Thursday, May 20, 2010

Review: Incarceron by Cathrine Fisher

Incarceron by Cathrine Fisher
Publisher: Dial Books
Date Published: January 26, 2010
Rating: 5/5

     Incarceron is a prison so vast that it contains not only cells, but also metal forests, dilapidated cities, and vast wilderness. Finn, a seventeen-year-old prisoner, has no memory of his childhood and is sure that he came from Outside Incarceron. Very few prisoners believe that there is an Outside, however, which makes escape seems impossible.

And then Finn finds a crystal key that allows him to communicate with a girl named Claudia. She claims to live Outside- she is the daughter of the Warden of Incarceron, and doomed to an arranged marriage. Finn is determined to escape the prison, and Claudia believes she can help him. But they don’t realize that there is more to Incarceron than meets the eye. Escape will take their greatest courage and cost more than they know.
Wow! This book kept me on edge the entire time I read it. Just the idea of an inescapable prison so large that it contains its own entire world unknown by the Outside was an awesome idea for the book. Adding in rebels, escape, and romance to it just electrocuted the storyline. Engagement. Rebellion. Death. Love. Captive. Treachery. Lies. Conspiracy. These words barely describe the first chapter let alone the entire book! Finding Incarceron is hard but it will take you on the adventure of a lifetime through the mind of the characters. I cannot wait for part two of this series: Sapphique coming out in December in the US! It’s a thrilling, high-concept fantasy for fans of Garth Nix and Nancy Farmer.

No comments:

Post a Comment

ShareThis